Twinning Attitude!

Join Fran Pitre and friends for uplifting, supportive, healthy conversation and information on topics important to all moms (and all women) today!

How do you as a woman, wife and mom like to spend your birthday? June 28, 2010

Filed under: Let's talk about ... — twinningattitude @ 3:16 pm

It’s my birthday today, and it fell this year on a Monday. Bruce decided that he wanted to make a cake last evening because he works all day today and wanted it to be ready to be served after dinner tonight. Although my older two daughters are old enough to make a basic sheet cake (Kathryn makes cakes, cookies and brownies all the time), Bruce insisted on making a cake himself (no, not the one pictured here … lol). He also plans on bringing Chinese food home tonight! (yummm!)

I was interviewed about my book on a morning show in Chicago this morning (thank you JoAnn Genette and WBIG’s “The Big Wake-Up Call”), and the timing prevented us from all heading up to our neighborhood pool this morning, so we’ll go after the little guys wake up from their nap later this afternoon. In the meantime, we’re enjoying a quiet day at home, will head up to the library in a bit, and  look forward to having our family birthday party this evening when Daddy comes home.

I have many fond memories of past birthday’s spend while on vacation at the beach with friends, celebrated on a work day at lunch, while on a get-away in Virginia with my BBF Jill, and cherish those memories. Today, I’m really enjoying today with my kids, and wonder what future birthdays will be like as they all continue to grow. My Mom and Dad called this morning to sing me “Happy Birthday”, and Mom recalled how she spent this day so many years ago in the hours before she gave birth at 8:30 pm. in Schenectady, New York.

I’m so thankful for all the blessings that surround me every day, and I thank God that He’s given me another birthday to celebrate with the people I love most in the world.

What are some of your favorite birthday memories? What are the ways in which you enjoy spending your birthday? Please share some of your birthday wishes and how you celebrate the blessings of your lives!

 

Leave a Reply

