Twinning Attitude!

Join Fran Pitre and friends for uplifting, supportive, healthy conversation and information on topics important to all moms (and all women) today!

“Brandon, you NEVER stop talking! Enough already!” June 14, 2010

Filed under: Let's talk about ... — twinningattitude @ 3:45 pm

Fight? Do my kids fight? It’s a finely-honed skill each developed at very early ages!! (I don’t mean physically FIGHT, but rather argue and disagree!!)

So, do we “break up the disagreements” or do we let them battle ’em out on their own … finding a way to solve it themselves? I realize that every situation is different, but what do you think?

(You know, this reminds me of SNL’s “Coffee Talk with Linda Richman” … of course, you have to pronounce it with the correct accent: You know, “here’s a topic, discuss amongst yourselves …” (and me, too)!

 

8 Responses to ““Brandon, you NEVER stop talking! Enough already!””

  1. Kelly Emilio Says:

    At first it use to stress me. I would feel bad taking time away from my kids to tutor other kids, but now I really enjoy it. My Saturday and Thursday tutoring is while they are asleep and my evening tutoring gives my husband a reason to come home on time from work and see his boys. My only challenge now is when he is out of town and I have my evening tutoring at the library (I give people the choice of either my home or a library).

  2. twinsx3 Says:

    Hey … you’ve got a great system, and a back-up to your great system! You know, we have GOT to find other creative outlets for ourselves … Yes, being a mom is the BEST “job”, or rather, vocation, I’ve ever had, but it isn’t ALL that we are. If we begin to feel isolated, under-appreciated, lonely, and overworked doing nothing by mommy-ing, then we really need to find that outlet on a regular basis.
    Kelly, aren’t you happier knowing that the skills you obtained and used daily as a teacher (I know that you’re a teacher, because I KNOW you personally) allows you to apply those skills where they should be applied, and in doing so, gives you such a sense of accomplishment and personal (and professional) satisfaction? That’s how I felt when I began to freelance design from Florida for the Virginia corp. I used to work full-time for. I LOVED the satisfaction of knowing that I did a good job, was thanked for it, and was PAID!! Hey, that little extra money comes in VERY handy!!

    Thanks so much for sharing!!!!

  3. Susan Says:

    Funny potty training story…. When my one and only son was 3yrs old and still not potty trained my husband made it his mission to potty train our son. That in itself is pretty funny to me. We were on a road trip somewhere in the middle of east Texas when my son pronounced he needed to go NOW. My husband threw on the brakes and pulled over to the side of the road. My son got out and all of the sudden about 50+ cows started to rush us. Needless to say, this was a very quick pit stop. The cows must of thought we where the hay truck.

    Can’t wait for your product reviews…

    • twinsx3 Says:

      LOL!!!!!
      I imagine the cows charging while kicking up dust and dirt as they approached! Oh my gosh … your poor little guy!! Either made him pee himself right there or learn really quickly that HOLDING IT was the best choice for the moment!!
      Thanks again for sharing!!

      BTW: my plan is to check out some new summer/pool/beach toys and supplies geared for kiddos!

  4. Kelly Emilio Says:

    My boys now 18 months have been fighting over toys for way too long. Yes I know this is only the beginning. James has been taking Charles toys for 10 months now. Charles use to just let it go, then he tried to hold on and cry, now he just gives in and starts screaming. After months of trying to teach sharing or finding another toy and disciplining (nono talk) James, I have now started placing him in the pack n play with no toys for 1-2 minutes after 3 times of telling him to leave Charles alone. It has actually helped a little.

    • twinsx3 Says:

      Hi Kelly,
      You know that toddlers are smart … a lot smarter than most give them credit for!
      If a “time out” helps … then do it!
      Eventually, Charles will begin to stand up for himself, as did the less-dominant child of each of my three sets. Of course, there’s still no peace, but I know that they’re (my now 2-yr olds) beginning to realize that “simply taking away” a toy from his brother, will not end well for anyone.
      Now, don’t think that this will ever end. They’ll learn right from wrong, not to take what’s not theirs, and that they should follow the 10 Commandments, yet they’ll still butt heads with their siblings, and their parents! Just hang on tight and do the best you can with any particular situation!

  5. Karen Quaiel Says:

    I once witnessed two children about the age of 8-9 fistfighting in someone’s front yard while the adults cheered. I know this is the extreme but it makes me wonder if these boys will ever be TAUGHT how to disagree and if my children, who don’t respond to disagreements with their fists, will ever run into some one like this. How to handle and respond to disagreements is taught….lets teach them

    • twinsx3 Says:

      Thank, Karen ~

      Wow … that would be hard for me to watch! You know, I see parents get more involved with their kids’ disagreements more and more it seems … especially at sports events. Even though parents are strongly cautioned and told not to “get involved” if they disagree with the umpire’s call on a play, my son’s baseball games sometimes become shouting matches from the stands. It’s crazy, and such poor examples for the boys playing the game. Fortunately, we have a team of wonderful coaches, who teach our boys sportsmanship … the parents really need to take a page from their book!

      At home, I find that when the arguments begin, everyone runs to me to solve the problem, and, although I do care about the situation, more and more I’ve decided that as my children grow, they need to develop skills for handling these types of situations. I say, “try to work it out, come up with a compromise that everyone can live with.” I eventually put a firm “stop” to it eventually, by penalizing the involved parties, even those not a fault, so that in the future, they will think twice about taking an argument too far. It’s not a perfect solution, but I’m finding, at least, with my oldest children, that they will avoid punishment by not involving ME.

      What other ideas are out there?


Leave a Reply

